Awards & Recognition

Professor Janet Box-Steffensmeier was named a Distinguished University Professor for 2020
Janet Box-Steffensmeier was awarded the permanent, honorific title of Distinguished University Professor for 2020. The distinction is the highest faculty honor at Ohio State and is given on a competitive basis to full professors who have demonstrated exceptional teaching, research, scholarly or creative work, and service. Distinguished University Professors automatically become members of the President’s and Provost’s Advisory Committee. In addition, recipients are awarded a $30,000 one-time grant to support their academic work and are expected to maintain a regular program of teaching/ mentorship, research, scholarly or creative work, and service. 
Professor Sarah Brooks is the recipient of the Joan N. Huber Huber Faculty Fellow Award for Excellence in the Social and Behavioral Sciences, 2018.
The winners of this highly competitive honor are chosen because of their exceptionally strong records of scholarly productivity.
Professor Janet Box-Steffensmeier is Elected into the American Academy of Arts and Sciences
Janet Box-Steffensmeier was among the three Ohio State faculty and one alumnus elected to the 237th class of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences.
Professor Bear Braumoeller is the Recipient of Nobel Fellowship, Nobel Institute in 2016 and also the Society for Political Methodology Outstanding Reviewer Award, 2016
Bear Braumoeller was the recipient of the 2016 Outstanding Reviewer Award from the journal, Political Analysis, which has the 2nd highest impact factor of all the political science journals. He also spent May and June of 2016 as a fellow at the Nobel Institute in Oslo, Norway.
Professor Janet Box-Steffensmeier Receives 2016 Excellence in Mentoring Award
Jan Box-Steffensmeier received the 2016 Excellence in Mentoring Award from the Society for Political Methodology, which honors members who have demonstrated an outstanding commitment to mentoring and advising graduate and/or undergraduate students - particularly those from underrepresented groups. 
Professor Skyler Cranmer Wins Best Conference Paper Award 
Skyler Cranmer won the 2015 Best Conference Paper award from the Political Networks section of the American Political Science Association for his working paper with Philip Leifeld, "A Performance Based Comparison of the Temporal Exponential Random Graph Model (TERGM) and Stochastic Actor Oriented Model (SAOM)."
Professor Janet Box-Steffensmeier Wins Best Article Award
Jan Box-Steffensmeier received the Jewell-Loewenberg Paper Award from the Legislative Studies Section of the American Political Science Association for the best article published in Legislative Studies Quarterly in 2015. 
Professor Janet Box-Steffensmeier Receives Outstanding Professional Achievement Award
Jan Box-Steffensmeier received the Outstanding Professional Achievement award from the Midwest Political Science Association Women's Caucus. 

Professor Larry Baum Receives Lifetime Achievement Award
Lawrence Baum received the 2014 Lifetime Achievement Award from the Law and Courts section of the American Political Science Association for a lifetime of significant scholarship, teaching and service. Baum was cited for his path-breaking work on judicial behavior, substantive policy and court reform.

Professor Janet Box-Steffensmeier Receives Lifetime Achievement Award
Jan Box-Steffensmeier was the recipient of the Warren E. Miller Award for Meritorious Service to the Social Sciences in 2013, the Ohio State University Distinguished Scholar award in 2012, and the Political Methodology Career Achievement Award in 2013. 

Professor Bear Braumoeller Wins Three Book Awards
Bear Braumoeller’s book, The Great Powers and the International System: Systemic Theory in Empirical Perspective, won the 2014 J. David Singer Book Award from ISA-Midwest, the ISA Best Book Award and received honorable mention from the ISA International Security Studies Section Best Book competition.

Professors Gregory Caldeira and Jack Wright Receive Lasting Contribution Award
Gregory Calderia and Jack Wright received the 2013 Lasting Contribution Award for their article, “Organized Interests and Agenda Setting in the U.S. Supreme Court,” published in American Political Science Review.

Professor Jennifer Mitzen Receives Two Book Awards at 2015 International Studies Association Conference
Jennifer Mitzen’s book, Power in Concert:  The Nineteenth Century Origins of Global Governance, has been selected as the winner of the 2015 ISSS Best Book Award, given by the International Security Studies Section of the International Studies Association (ISA). The award is presented to the author whose work focuses on security studies and demonstrates originality, significance and rigor. Her book was also recognized with an Honorable Mention for the Francesco Guicciardini Prize from the Historical IR section of the ISA.

Professor Jan Pierskalla Wins Dissertation Award
Jan Pierskalla has been named the recipient of the 2014 Mancur Olson Award for the best dissertation in Political Economy in the last two years for his dissertation "Urban Rural Bias and the Political Geography of Distributive Conflicts".

Professor Philippp Rehm Receives Heinz I. Eulau Award
Philipp Rehm has won APSA's Heinz I. Eulau Award for his article “The Insecure American: Economic Experiences, Financial Worries, and Policy Attitudes” with co-authors Jacob Hacker and Mark Schlesinger.