Ohio State nav bar

Diversity Equity and Inclusion Committee

Diversity Equity Inclusion Logo

Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Mission Statement

Who We Are

We are a team of faculty and graduate students working to increase diversity and advance a climate of equity and inclusion in the political science community and the broader university. We advocate for marginalized groups and identities who too often bear the burdens of a society and institutions that overlook, neglect, and silence their voices and presence. We are committed to implementing with the highest standards the best practices to permanently reshape culture so that all students may equally access a rich intellectual and communal experience in the Department of Political Science. Our goal as a committee is to create a space where unquestioned norms are challenged, perspectives are broadened, words become actions, and differences are embraced. As members of the political science community, it is of the utmost importance that we champion diverse ideas, voices, and research that accurately reflect the community we represent.

What We Believe In: Values and Mission

The Department of Political Science at The Ohio State University aspires to be a safe and welcoming space for everyone. Our department is home to people of all races and classes, religions and cultures, sexual orientations, gender identities and expressions, nationalities and immigration statuses, military or protected veteran statuses, and abilities and needs. Racism, xenophobia, misogyny, homophobia, transphobia, antisemitism, ableism, and all other forms of hate will not be tolerated.

We are aware of the historical and current power structure that certain dominant groups, such as white, cisgender men, have traditionally maintained in the discipline of political science, public office, politics, and policy. For this reason, we believe in promoting engaged pluralism, increasing the diversity of the methods and methodologies, and the substance of our research as well as the composition of our faculty, staff, and student body and supporting an inclusive and equitable environment remains a top priority for the Department moving forward.

Where We’ve Been and Where We’re Going

We have worked on best practices for allyship, hiring, classroom discussion, and mentoring at all levels. We regularly distribute informational and educational resources. We have organized and participated in trainings regarding awareness of biases and best practices for supporting marginalized groups. The DEI committee is also committed to regularly surveying and checking in with the department to assess our culture. We facilitate discussion on all topics related to diversity, equity, and inclusion with the goal of always improving ourselves and the  department.

These are your classrooms; this is your university. You should feel welcome and safe here. We recognize that our aspirations are never perfectly realized, so if there is anything we can do to make our department more welcoming and accessible, please do not hesitate to let us know. We encourage everyone to share their ideas, be open to learning and understanding, and engage in meaningful discussion surrounding diversity, equity, and inclusion. 

Best Practices

General University Resources

The Office of Diversity and Inclusion

The Grad School, Office of Diversity

Office of Ombud Services 

Counseling and Consultation

Title IX and Office of Institutional Equity 

Strategic Diversity Planning, Training, and Assessment

Employee Resource Groups

The Women's Place 

Hale Black Cultural Center

Bell National Resource Center

Drake Institute: Information on Inclusive Teaching

Drake Institute: Recording of Workshops on Teaching about Violence, Responding to -isms in the classroom, Inclusive Teaching, and Calling In

Regional Campus Transitioners

Ohio State Louis Stokes Alliances for Minority Participation (LSAMP)

For Students

Social, Wellness, and Student Life 

Multicultural Center

Multicultural Center Communities:

Leadership Initiatives for Women of Color- for undergraduate and graduate and professional students

Morrill Scholarship Program -for incoming undergraduate students 

Latinx Student Success (LSS) 

ACCESS Collaborative-  for undergraduate parenting students

Women in Political Science Group- for faculty and graduate students

Bell Fellows Program- for graduate students 

Graduate and Professional Student Events by the Office of Diversity and Inclusion 

Undergraduate Student Events by the Office of Diversity and Inclusion

American Political Science Association (APSA) Diversity and Inclusion Resources 

APSA respect principles

APSA Strategic Plan

APSA Home Page on Resources for Diversity and Inclusion

APSA Diversity and Inclusion Advancing Research Grants 

APSA Mentor Program 

APSA Careers Diversity Committee Members 

APSA Status Committees

Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Committee Members, 2022-2023

Benjamin McKean, Chair

Alex Acs

Jungbae An

Bear Braumoeller

Thomas Nelson

Kaveri Sarkar

Emma Saunders-Hastings

Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Committee Members, 2021-2022

Janet Box-Steffensmeier, Chair

Alex Acs

Sinan Anbarcioglu

Rachel Bowen

Bear Braumoeller

Benjamin McKean (Spring 2022)

José O. Pérez

Inés Valdez (Spring 2022)

Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Committee Members, 2020-2021

Janet Box-Steffensmeier, Chair

Martin Armstrong

Rachel Bowen

Bear Braumoeller

Victoria Gurevich

Benjamin McKean

Inés Valdez

Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Committee Members, 2019-2020

Amanda Robinson, Chair 

Benjamin McKean

Alex Thompson

Inés Valdez

Sara Watson