Ohio State nav bar

Women in Political Science


Women in Political Science (WIPS)

WIPS was founded at Ohio State in Fall of 2015 as a space for women-identifying graduate students and faculty in the Political Science department to share concerns regarding the status of women both within the department and within the discipline as a whole. WIPS serves many functions: it provides peer-to-peer and faculty-student mentorship through social events; offers a regular forum where members can express concerns and work toward potential solutions; and organizes member-based task forces to tackle issues raised and discussed within the group. WIPS also hosts weekly coffee hours and external speaker events throughout the academic year.

Resources for Women in Political Science
Visions in Methodology
Imposter Syndrome Scale
Gender Bias Calculator

Faculty and Graduate Student Research, Grants and Awards Spotlight 2018-19

  • Dr. Jan Box-Steffensmeier served as the Interim Vice Provost for the Arts and Sciences and Executive Dean of the College of Arts and Sciences
  • Dr. Sarah Brooks was named the Associate Editor of the American Journal of Political Science
  • Dr. Jennifer Mitzen published “Feeling at Home in Europe: Migration, Ontological Security, and the Political Psychology of European Borders,” in the journal Political Psychology
  • Dr. Sara Watson published "Firms and Social Protection: An Event Study” (with Raj Arunachalam) in the journal Comparative Political Studies
  • Dr. Amanda Robinson published "Ethnic Diversity, Segregation and Ethnocentric Trust in Africa" in the British Journal of Political Science
  • Dr. Ines Valdez is a Humboldt Stiftung Fellow at the Hanse-Wissenschaftskolleg and Humboldt University of Berlin for 2019-2021 and was recently a Laurance S. Rockefeller Visiting Faculty Fellow at the Princeton University Center for Human Values
  • OSU Graduate Student Alumni Wei-Ting Yen (PhD, 2018) has been honored by the National Academy of Social Insurance and the 2019 Heinz Dissertation Award Selection Committee as receiving an honorable mention for her dissertation, “Unstable Income and the Welfare States in Asia.”
  • Graduate Student Barbara Roth is the recipient of the Prestigious Fulbright-Hays DDRA Fellowship.

Contact Us
Twitter: @OsuWips