Graduate Student Awards



Departmental Awards for the 2019-2020 academic year


Francis R. Aumann Teaching Award ($1,000) — Alec Clott

Francis R. Aumann Award for conference travel for best pre-conference presentation (up to $1,000) — Liwu Gan: "Assessing Fair Shares: A New Typology of International Responsibility"

Francis R. Aumann Award for best paper presented at a conference ($500) — Kaitlin McClamrock

Francis R. Aumann Award for best paper written in Political Methodology ($500)  — Shared by Laura Moses: "Interest Actors: Recasting and Classification for Identifying Interests and Organizations on Twitter" and Jared Edgerton: "The ties that bind us: Social networks and suicide combatant Mobilization"

William Jennings Bryan Prize for best paper written in American Politics ($500)  — Laura Moses: "Interest Groups Informational Coalitions on Twitter"

William Jennings Bryan Prize for best paper written in Political Theory ($500) — Bear Brown: "Democratic Harm or Healing? Distinguishing Anti-Elitism from Populism"

Jacobina Aman Award for best paper written in Comparative Politics ($500) — Cameron Macaskill"Postcolonial African Regional Integration"

Jacobina Aman Award for best paper written in International Relations ($500) — Maryum Alam"Delegates or trustees? Monitoring costs and indirect foreign policy"

Henry R. Spencer Award for best dissertation ($1,000) — Mini Saraswati:  “Climate Volatility and Conflict in Sub-Saharan Africa”


Other awards, honors and fellowships

Charles Harpoole won a Kentucky Historical Society Research Fellowship for 2021.

Minseon Ku was awarded a Mershon Center for International Security Studies Student Grant for 2021-2022.

Erik Clarke won 3rd Place for Best Social & Behavioral Sciences Poster Presentation at the 2021 OSU Hayes Forum.

Jon Green was named one of Political Research Quarterly’s Outstanding Reviewers for 2020.

Kaitlin McClamrock was awarded the Decision Sciences Collaborative Small Research Grant for work on conflict avoidance and selective exposure in minoritized communities.

Kaitlin McClamrock was named a National Science Foundation Graduate Research Fellowship Program (NSF- GRFP) fellow, studying decision-making in communities under threats of violence. 

Kaitlin McClamrock was awarded the Mershon Center Graduate Student Research Grant for research on norms driving individual and community relationships to civic culture in New American communities.