Ohio State nav bar


Welcome to the Program In Statistics and Methodology, otherwise known as PRISM. 

PRISM is affiliated with the Political Research Laboratory in the Department of Political Science at The Ohio State University and offers a wide variety of services to the department, including statistical consulting, a speaker series and methods luncheons. Current personnel include the Director, Professor Janet Box-Steffensmeier, two methods fellows, a methods consultant for first year graduate students, as well as a number of affiliated faculty members in the department. 

PRISM Director

Janet M. Box-Steffensmeier is the Vernal Riffe Professor of Political Science and Professor of Sociology (courtesy) at The Ohio State University (Ph.D., Texas, 1993). She pursues research and teaching interests in American Politics, including legislative politics, public opinion, political behavior; and Political Methodology, particularly event history and time series analysis.  She has published articles on these topics in the American Political Science Review, American Journal of Political Science, Journal of Politics, Political Analysis, Legislative Studies Quarterly, and other journals. She is also the co-author (with Bradford Jones) of Event History Modeling: A Guide for Social Scientists (Cambridge University Press, 2003). 

Box-Steffensmeier served as President of the Midwest Political Science Association and the Political Methodology Society as well as Treasurer of the American Political Science Association. She has twice received the Gosnell Award for the best work in political methodology and the Emerging Scholar Award of the Elections, Public Opinion, and Voting Behavior Section of the American Political Science Association in 2001. She was an inaugural Fellow of the Society for Political Methodology. The Box-Steffensmeier Graduate Student Award, given annually by the Interuniversity Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) is named after her in recognition of her contributions in political methodology and her support of women in this field. She received a Distinguished Teaching Award from the Political Science Department in 2013, Distinguished Undergraduate Mentor Award in 2009, Warren E. Miller Award for Meritorious Service to the Social Sciences in 2013, the Ohio State University Distinguished Scholar award in 2012, and the Political Methodology Career Achievement Award in 2013.  She was appointed as the faculty representative to the Academic Affairs and Student Life Committee of the Ohio State Board of Trustees in 2013.