Political Science Alumna Abi McGowan Selected as Alternate for Fulbright Grant

June 18, 2020

Political Science Alumna Abi McGowan Selected as Alternate for Fulbright Grant

Abi McGowan in Ireland

COLUMBUS, Ohio — Ohio State University is pleased to announce that sixteen students have received Fulbright U.S. Student Program awards in for the 2020-2021 academic year from the U.S. Department of State and the J. William Fulbright Foreign Scholarship Board.

These Ohio State students represent some of the 2,100 U.S. citizens who will study, conduct research, and teach abroad for the 2020-2021 academic year through the Fulbright U.S. Student Program. Recipients of Fulbright awards are selected in an open, merit-based competition that considers leadership potential, academic and/or professional achievement, and record of service. As Fulbright alumni, their careers are enriched by joining a network of thousands of esteemed alumni, many of whom are leaders in their fields. Fulbright alumni include 60 Nobel Prize laureates, 88 Pulitzer Prize recipients, and 37 who have served as a head of state or government.

Ohio State awardees include:

  • William Balla-Johnson (Spanish and Portuguese) – Spain, Research
  • Elena Akers (German, International Studies) – Germany, English Teaching Assistant
  • Sahithee Batchu (Biomedical Engineering) –India, Research
  • Kathleen Greer (German, History) –Germany, English Teaching Assistant
  • Ross Guthery (French, Economics) –France, Research
  • McKenzie Hartman (International Studies, Economics) –Germany, English Teaching Assistant
  • Ryan Mitchell (History of Art, English) – Turkey, Research
  • Young Na (German) –Germany, English Teaching Assistant
  • Chloe Nelson (English) –South Korea, English Teaching Assistant
  • Tracy Okine (Neuroscience) – Czech Republic, Research
  • Ayush Peddireddi (Biomedical Science, English) – Vietnam, English Teaching Assistant
  • Sarah Stradling (German, International Studies, History) – Germany, English Teaching Assistant
  • Alesha Telvick (Integrated Language Arts/English Education) – Colombia, English Teaching Assistant
  • Megan Wadas (German) – Germany, English Teaching Assistant
  • Sydnee Wilke (Russian, International Studies) – Russia, English Teaching Assistant
  • Vilas Winstein (Mathematics, Computer Information Science) – Hungary, Research 

Additionally, five students have been named alternates for Fulbright grants:

  • Kyle DeBry (Engineering Physics) –United Kingdom, Research
  • Ethan Hitch (Musicology) – Germany, English Teaching Assistant
  • Abigail McGowan (International Studies, Political Science) – United Kingdom, Research
  • Zachary Oncale (International Studies) – Germany, English Teaching Assistant
  • Elizabeth Troiano (Psychology, Linguistics) – Italy, English Teaching Assistant

"I am so proud of our university's Fulbright award recipients," said Ohio State President Michael V. Drake. "Their commitment to creating and sharing knowledge exemplifies Ohio State's founding land-grant mission and builds the foundation upon which cooperation and understanding are established. Despite these extraordinary times, I know that the spirit of this program, and the perseverance of our students, will endure well into the future."

The Fulbright U.S. Student Program is administered at the Undergraduate Fellowship Office through Corey Efron for undergraduate students and at the Graduate School through Fellowship Services for graduate students. Undergraduates interested in applying to the U.S. Student Program should contact fellowships@osu.edu and graduate students should contact grad-schoolfellowships@osu.edu.

The Fulbright Program is the flagship international educational exchange program sponsored by the U.S. government and is designed to forge lasting connections between the people of the United States and the people of other countries, counter misunderstandings, and help people and nations work together toward common goals. Since its establishment in 1946, the Fulbright Program has enabled more than 390,000 dedicated and accomplished students, scholars, artists, teachers, and professionals of all backgrounds to study, teach and conduct research, exchange ideas, and find solutions to shared international concerns. The Fulbright Program is funded through an annual appropriation made by the U.S. Congress to the

U.S. Department of State. Participating governments and host institutions, corporations, and foundations around the world also provide direct and indirect support to the Program, which operates in more than 160 countries worldwide.

For more information about the Fulbright Program, visit http://eca.state.gov/fulbright.