# 2023-2024 DEPARTMENTAL SERVICE ASSIGNMENTS \*

**ADMISSIONS AND RECRUITMENT** [Recommends new graduate students for admission and funding]

Sarah Brooks, Chair

[STAFF: Shay Valley, Rebecca Martin]

Melinda Ritchie Nicole Yadon Jennifer Mitzen Jan Pierskalla

Freddy Chen, Spring 2024

Haifeng Huang Eric MacGilvray

# **ANNUAL REVIEW COMMITTEE** [Reviews faculty reports & advises on merit raises]

Greg Caldeira, Chair

[STAFF: Rebecca Martin]

Sarah Brooks

Janet Box-Steffensmeier

Alexander Wendt

**AWARDS** [Nominates faculty, staff, and students for various university and professional awards]

Marcus Kurtz, Chair

[STAFF: Rebecca Martin]

Gregory Leslie Skyler Cranmer

. Julia Park

**Thomas Nelson** 

**DIVERSITY** [Advises on climate and diversity issues]

Benjamin McKean, Chair

[STAFF: Rebecca Martin]

Alex Acs

Nicole Yadon

<sup>\*</sup> Christopher Gelpi is on FPL in Spring 2024; Randy Schweller, in Fall 2023; and William Minozzi, FPL, for Fall 2023 and Spring 2024.

Thomas Nelson Amanda Robinson

Two students elected by graduate students as the Parallel Graduate Studies Committee

**EXECUTIVE** [Advises the chair on departmental policies, priorities, and plans]

Greg Caldeira Chair [STAFF: Rebecca Martin, Shay Valley]

Sarah Brooks (DGS)

Vlad Kogan (DUGS)

Alexander Wendt (IR), Autumn 2023.

Christopher Gelpi (IR) Spring 2024

Alex Acs (American)

Amanda Robinson (Comparative Politics)

Eric MacGilvray (Political Theory)

Jan Pierskalla (Methods)

Marcus Kurtz (International Studies)

#### **FACULTY RECRUITMENT**

See below.

FINANCIAL AID [Recommends incumbent graduate students for departmental funding]

Greg Caldeira, Chair [STAFF: Shay Valley]

Sarah Brooks, DGS

Alex Acs, American Politics

Eric MacGilvray, Political Theory

Alexander Thompson, International Relations

Jan Pierskalla, Methods

Amanda Robinson, Comparative Politics

**GRADUATE STUDIES** [Advises on graduate policies and procedures and student programs.

Selects graduate students for departmental, university, and professional awards]

[STAFF: Shay Valley]

Sarah Brooks, Chair

Alex Acs

Julia Park

Michael Neblo

Skyler Cranme*r*Haifeng Huang
Alexander Wendt
Erin Lin

Six students elected by graduate students as the Parallel Graduate Studies Committee

**UNDERGRADUATE STUDIES** [Advises on undergraduate program curriculum and policies and selects undergraduates for departmental awards]

Vlad Kogan, Chair [STAFF: Shay Valley]

Zuheir Desai Marcus Kurtz Benjamin McKean Melinda Ritchie Nathaniel Swigger Jennifer Mitzen

Charles Smith [Undergraduate Advising & Course Scheduling, ex

officio]

Troy Markham [Internship Coordinator, ex officio]

(Graduate Student representative) (Undergraduate representative) (Undergraduate representative)

#### **DEPARTMENT-WIDE SPEAKERS SERIES COMMITTEE**

Thomas Wood, Chair Gregory Leslie Skyler Cranmer Zuheir Desai Alexander Wendt

**FIELD COORDINATORS** [Responsible for coordinating the teaching schedule for fields and interfield sub-fields and serve as liaison between the Department and fields/sub-fields. The Teaching Schedule Committee includes the coordinators of the major fields.]

Alex Acs, American Politics Amanda Robinson, Comparative Politics Alexander Thompson, International Relations Eric MacGilvray, Political Theory Jan Pierskalla, Methods, Methods

# **GRADUATE PROGRAM**

Sarah Brooks, Director of Graduate Studies

# **UNDERGRADUATE PROGRAM**

Vlad Kogan, Director of Undergraduate Studies

# OTHER DEPARTMENTAL ASSIGNMENTS

Alexander Thompson, Procedural Oversight Designee (for faculty reviews)
Marcus Kurtz, Director, International Studies
Sara Watson, University Senate; Chair, Faculty Council
Skyler Cranmer, ICPSR Representative
Skyler Cranmer, Conflict Approval Committee, Office of Research
Eric MacGilvray, Chair, Philosophy, Politics, and Economics, Steering Committee
Eric MacGilvray, Co-Director, Civil Discourse for Citizenship, CEHV
William Minozzi, Director of Research, IDEA; Representative, TDIA
Randall Schweller, Program for the Study of Realist Foreign Policy
Michael Neblo, Director, Institute for Democratic Engagement and Accountability
Tom Nelson, Roper Contact
Tom Nelson, Institutional Review Board

Tom Nelson, Member, Council of Academic Affairs
Randy Schweller, Library Representative
Gregory A. Caldeira, President's and Provost's Advisory Committee
Janet Box-Steffensmeier, President's and Provost's Advisory Committee
Benjamin McKean, Member, SBS Subcommittee of the ASC Curriculum Committee

### **FACULTY SEARCH**

# **Comparative Politics**

Marcus Kurtz, Chair Amanda Robinson September 1<sup>st</sup>, 2023