2022-2023 DEPARTMENTAL SERVICE ASSIGNMENTS*

ADMISSIONS AND RECRUITMENT [Recommends new graduate students for admission and funding]

Sarah Brooks, Chair

[STAFF: Shay Valley, Rebecca Martin]

Thomas Wood
William Minozzi
Alexander Thompson
Jennifer Mitzen
Erin Lin
Amanda Robinson

Eric MacGilvray

ANNUAL REVIEW COMMITTEE [Reviews faculty reports & advises on merit raises]

Greg Caldeira, Chair Sarah Brooks Janet Box-Steffensmeier Chris Gelpi [STAFF: Rebecca Martin]

AWARDS [Nominates faculty, staff, and students for various university and professional awards]

Marcus Kurtz, Chair [STAFF: Rebecca Martin] Randy Schweller

Skyler Cranmer Amanda Robinson

Thomas Nelson (FPL, Autumn 2022)

^{*} Bear Braumoeller and Thomas Nelson are on FPL in Autumn 2022, Melinda Ritchie on a Kluge Fellowship, and Nicole Yadon on maternity leave and are not eligible for committee service during Fall 2022.

DIVERSITY [Advises on climate and diversity issues]

TBA, Chair [STAFF: Rebecca Martin]

Bear Braumoeller (FPL, Autumn 2022)

Alex Acs

Emma Saunders-Hastings

Benjamin McKean

Thomas Nelson (FPL, Autumn 2022)

EXECUTIVE [Advises the chair on departmental policies, priorities, and plans]

Greg Caldeira Chair [STAFF: Rebecca Martin, Shay Valley]

Sarah Brooks (DGS)

Vlad Kogan (DUGS)

Janet Box-Steffensmeier (Diversity)

Bear Braumoeller (IR; FPL, Autumn 2022)

Daniel Verdier (IR, Autumn 2022)

William Minozzi (American)

Philipp Rehm (Comparative, Autumn 2022)

Eric MacGilvray (Political Theory)

Jan Pierskalla (Methods; Comparative, Spring 2023)

Marcus Kurtz (International Studies)

FACULTY RECRUITMENT

See below.

FINANCIAL AID [Recommends incumbent graduate students for departmental funding]

Greg Caldeira, Chair

[STAFF: Shay Valley]

Sarah Brooks, DGS

William Minozzi, American Politics

Eric MacGilvray, Political Theory

Bear Braumoeller (FPL, Autumn 2022), International Relations

Jan Pierskalla, Comparative Politics, Methods

GRADUATE STUDIES [Advises on graduate policies and procedures and student programs. Selects graduate students for departmental, university, and professional awards]

Sarah Brooks, Chair [STAFF: Shay Valley]

Alex Acs

Michael Neblo Skyler Cranme*r* Christopher Gelpi

Erin Lin

Daniel Verdier

Six students elected by graduate students as the Parallel Graduate Studies Committee

UNDERGRADUATE STUDIES [Advises on undergraduate program curriculum and policies and selects undergraduates for departmental awards]

Vlad Kogan, Chair [STAFF: Shay Valley]

Marcus Kurtz

Benjamin McKean

Melinda Ritchie (Leave, Autumn 2022)

Emma Saunders-Hastings

Nathaniel Swigger Alexander Wendt

Charles Smith [Undergraduate Advising & Course

Scheduling, ex officio]

Troy Markham [Internship Coordinator, ex officio]

(Graduate Student representative) (Undergraduate representative) (Undergraduate representative)

DEPARTMENT-WIDE SPEAKERS SERIES COMMITTEE

Thomas Wood, Chair Amanda Robinson Skyler Cranmer Emma Saunders-Hastings Alex Wendt Melinda Ritchie (Leave, Autumn 2022)

FIELD COORDINATORS [Responsible for coordinating the teaching schedule for fields and inter-field sub-fields and serve as liaison between the Department and fields/sub-fields. The Teaching Schedule Committee includes the coordinators of the major fields.]

William Minozzi, American Politics
Philipp Rehm, Comparative Politics (Autumn 2022)
Bear Braumoeller, International Relations (FPL, Autumn 2022)
Daniel Verdier, International Relations (Autumn 2022)
Eric MacGilvray, Political Theory
Jan Pierskalla, Methods; Comparative, Spring 2023

GRADUATE PROGRAM

Sarah Brooks, Director of Graduate Studies

UNDERGRADUATE PROGRAM

Vlad Kogan, Director of Undergraduate Studies

OTHER DEPARTMENTAL ASSIGNMENTS

Alexander Thompson, Procedural Oversight Designee (for faculty reviews)

Alexander Thompson, Advisor, CCWA Marcus Kurtz, SBS P&T review committee Marcus Kurtz, Director, International Studies

Sara Watson, University Senate

Skyler Cranmer, ICPSR Representative

Eric MacGilvray, Chair, Philosophy, Politics, and Economics, Steering Committee

Eric MacGilvray, Co-Director, Civil Discourse for Citizenship, CEHV Randall Schweller, Program for the Study of Realist Foreign Policy Michael Neblo, Director, Institute for Democratic Engagement and Accountability

Tom Nelson, Roper Contact (FPL, Autumn 2022)

Tom Nelson, Institutional Review Board (FPL, Autumn 2022)

Randy Schweller, Library Representative

Gregory A. Caldeira, President's and Provost's Advisory Committee Janet Box-Steffensmeier, President's and Provost's Advisory Committee

FACULTY SEARCHES

RAISE, American Politics

Janet Box-Steffensmeier, Chair Vladimir Kogan Alex Acs

Comparative Politics

Marcus Kurtz, Chair Amanda Robinson Erin Lin

International Politics

Sarah Brooks, Chair Christopher Gelpi Skyler Cranmer Jennifer Mitzen

Quantitative Methods

William Minozzi, Chair Jan Pierskalla Thomas Wood