# 2020-2021 DEPARTMENTAL SERVICE ASSIGNMENTS\*

### ADMISSIONS AND RECRUITMENT [Recommends new graduate students

for admission and funding]

Sarah Brooks, Chair

[STAFF: Jessica Valsi, Rebecca Martin]

Thomas Wood William Minozzi Daniel Verdier Jan Pierskalla Sara Watson

Alex Thompson

## **ANNUAL REVIEW COMMITTEE** [Reviews faculty reports & advises on merit raises]

Greg Caldeira, Chair

[STAFF: Rebecca Martin]

Sarah Brooks

Janet Box-Steffensmeier

Chris Gelpi

**AWARDS** [Nominates faculty, staff, and students for various university and professional awards]

Marcus Kurtz, Chair

[STAFF: Rebecca Martin]

Alex Wendt

Janet Box-Steffensmeier

Randy Schweller

<sup>\*</sup> Michael Neblo and Amanda Robinson are on Faculty Professional Leave, 2020-2021, and are not eligible for committee assignments.

### **DIVERSITY** [Advises on climate and diversity issues]

Janet Box-Steffensmeier, Chair

[STAFF: Rebecca Martin]

Inés Valdez

Benjamin McKean

Rachel Bowen

Bear Braumoeller

### **EXECUTIVE** [Advises the chair on departmental policies, priorities, and plans]

Greg Caldeira Chair

[STAFF: Rebecca Martin, Jessica Valsi]

Sarah Brooks (DGS)

Vlad Kogan (DUGS)

Janet Box-Steffensmeier (Diversity)

Bear Braumoeller (IR)

William Minozzi (American)

Philipp Rehm (Comparative)

Eric MacGilvray (Political Theory)

Jan Pierskalla (Methods)

Marcus Kurtz (International Studies)

### FINANCIAL AID [Recommends incumbent graduate students for departmental funding]

Greg Caldeira, Chair

[STAFF: Jessica Valsi]

Sarah Brooks, DGS

William Minozzi

Philipp Rehm

Eric MacGilvray

Bear Braumoeller

Ian Pierskalla

**GRADUATE STUDIES** [Advises on graduate policies and procedures and student programs. Selects graduate students for departmental, university, and professional awards]

Sarah Brooks, Chair

[STAFF: Jessica Valsi]

Alex Acs

Thomas Nelson

Philipp Rehm

Skyler Cranmer

Erin Lin

Jennifer Mitzen

Alex Wendt

Six students elected by graduate students as the Parallel Graduate Studies Committee

## **UNDERGRADUATE STUDIES** [Advises on undergraduate program curriculum and policies and selects undergraduates for departmental awards]

Vlad Kogan, Chair [STAFF: Jessica Valsi]

Thomas Nelson Marcus Kurtz

Benjamin McKean

Nicole Yadon

Alex Thompson

Emma Saunders-Hastings

Nathaniel Swigger

Charles Smith [Undergraduate Advising & Course

Scheduling, *ex officio*]

Elizabeth Kloss [Internship Coordinator, ex officio]

(Graduate Student representative) (Undergraduate representative) (Undergraduate representative)

### DEPARTMENT-WIDE SPEAKERS SERIES COMMITTEE

Jan Pierskalla, Chair Skyler Cranmer Emma Saunders-Hastings Alex Wendt Nicole Yadon Tom Wood

### SPECIAL DEPARTMENTAL RESPONSIBILITIES

**FIELD COORDINATORS** [Responsible for coordinating the teaching schedule for fields and inter-field sub-fields and serve as liaison between the Department and fields/sub-fields. The Teaching Schedule Committee includes the coordinators of the major fields.]

William Minozzi, American Politics Philipp Rehm, Comparative Politics Bear Braumoeller, International Relations Eric MacGilvray, Political Theory Jan Pierskalla, Political Methodology

#### **GRADUATE PROGRAM**

Sarah Brooks, Director of Graduate Studies

#### UNDERGRADUATE PROGRAM

Vlad Kogan, Director of Undergraduate Studies

### OTHER DEPARTMENTAL ASSIGNMENTS

Daniel Verdier, Procedures Oversight Designee (for faculty reviews) Alexander Thompson, Procedural Oversight Designee, Alternate (for faculty reviews)

Marcus Kurtz SBS P&T review committee Marcus Kurtz, Director, International Studies William Minozzi, University Senate Sara Watson, University Senate Benjamin McKean, ASC Senator Alex Wendt, ASC Senate Alternate Skyler Cranmer, ICPSR Representative Eric MacGilvray, Chair, Philosophy, Politics, and Economics, Steering Committee

Eric MacGilvray, Coordinator, COMPASS, Center for Ethics and Human Values

Christopher Gelpi, Director, Mershon Center for International Security Studies

Randall Schweller, Program for the Study of Realist Foreign Policy

Randall Schweller, Editor in Chief, Security Studies

Michael Neblo, Director, Institute for Democratic Engagement and Accountability

Tom Nelson, Roper Contact

Tom Nelson, Institutional Review Board

Randy Schweller, Library Representative

Inés Valdez, APSA Minority Identification Program Representative

Inés Valdez, Director, Center for Latin American Studies

Gregory A. Caldeira, President's and Provost's Advisory Committee

Janet Box-Steffensmeier, President's and Provost's Advisory Committee