Wei-Ting Yen Received Heinz Award Honorable Mention

January 4, 2019

Wei-Ting Yen Received Heinz Award Honorable Mention

Wei-Ting Yen Image

OSU Alumni Wei-Ting Yen (PhD, 2018) has been honored by the National Academy of Social Insurance and the 2019 Heinz Dissertation Award Selection Committee as receiving an honorable mention for her dissertation, “Unstable Income and the Welfare States in Asia.” Yen wrote the dissertation while she was a doctoral student in political science in the graduate school at Ohio State University. Her thesis was nominated by Sarah M. Brooks, professor in the department of political science at Ohio State University.

“The Academy is committed to developing the next generation of social insurance policy scholars and leaders. We are very pleased to recognize...Wei-Ting Yen’s fascinating research. Like previous Heinz Dissertation Award winners, the scholarship of...Yen will surely help us develop better policies in the coming years,” said William J. Arnone, Chief Executive Officer of the National Academy of Social Insurance.

Yen will be starting a tenure-track assistant professor position at Franklin and Marshall College starting in Fall 2019.

About the John Heinz Award

The National Academy of Social Insurance bestows the John Heinz Dissertation Award in honor of the late Senator John Heinz, who was a founding member of the Academy and an advocate for health reform and social insurance. The Award, made possible by the Heinz Family Foundation, recognizes and promotes outstanding doctoral research by new scholars focusing on policy questions in social insurance and related areas, including health, aging, and economic opportunities. These are all areas that were important to John Heinz, who is also remembered as a champion of the elderly. His long list of political activities included: Chairmanship of the Special Committee on Aging; Chairmanship of the Republican Conference Task Force on Job Training and Education; membership in the National Commission on Social Security Reform, and the National Commission on Health Care Reform. Teresa Heinz Kerry, chair of the Heinz Family Foundation, said of Senator Heinz: “In the performance of his duties, both as a public servant and as a philanthropist, he was not merely tireless, he was joyfully ferocious, himself the embodiment of radiant living.” Senator Heinz died in a tragic airline accident in 1991.

Nominations are reviewed by a national, multi-disciplinary selection committee chaired by Courtney Coile, Professor of Economics and Director of the Knapp Social Science Center at Wellesley College. Other members of the selection committee: Jason Barabas, Professor of Political Science at Stony Brook University and winner of the 2001 Heinz Dissertation Award; Ezra Golberstein, Associate Professor at the University of Minnesota School of Public Health;  and Jeffrey Wenger, Senior Policy Researcher at the RAND Corporation and faculty fellow at American University.

The Academy will be accepting nominations for the 2020 John Heinz Dissertation Award in the late summer/early autumn of 2019. To obtain application forms and additional information, please visit the Student Opportunities section of the Academy’s website: www.nasi.org.